Navigating your Inbox


After logging-in, the first page you will be directed to is the Inbox. As with your previous Novell account, the Inbox will be the page in which all new mail will be delivered and stored.  

New mail messages will appear in the menu box to the right of the screen. Your myLaurier account provides numerous options that help to organize and sort the mail in your Inbox. 


Starring

Starring gives a message special status by making it easier to find. You can Star a message by either clicking the star outline next to the message in the Inbox or by clicking the check box next to the message and selecting More Actions > Add Star. By adding a star to a message you send it the Starred label, which is located below the Inbox label in the left menu box. You can also De-Star a message that has been previously starred by clicking the already highlighted star next to the message. De-Starring a message will remove the message from the Starred Label. 


Archiving

Archiving helps to organize your Inbox by moving important messages to the All Mail label where they can be stored. You can Archive a message by clicking the check box next to the message in the Inbox and selecting the Archive tab. The message will then be moved from the Inbox to the All Mail label, which is located in the left menu box (If you don’t see the All Mail label along the left side of the page, click more which is located above the contacts label).


Report Spam

Reporting Spam allows your myLaurier account to weed out unwanted messages. To Report Spam, simply select the unwanted message and click the Report Spam tab. The message will then be moved to the Spam label, which is located in the left menu box (if you don’t see the spam label along the left side of the page, click more which is located above the contacts label). 


Delete

Deleting moves unwanted messages into the Trash label. To delete a message, select the message you want removed and click the Delete tab. When a message is deleted it is moved to the Trash tab, which is located in the left menu box (if you don’t see the spam label along the left side of the page, click more which is located above the contacts label). All messages in the Trash label will be stored for 30 days before being automatically deleted. You can delete messages before then by selecting the message(s) you want deleted and clicking Delete Forever. Messages in the Trash label can be moved back into your Inbox by selecting the message you want restored and clicking Move To > Inbox


Move To

The Move to tab allows you to move and organize messages from your Inbox into different Labels. To move a message, select the message you want moved and click the Move To tab. You will then see a drop list of all the possible destinations where the message can be moved. Select the appropriate label and the message will be moved from the inbox to the new label, which will be located in the left menu bar.


Labels

The Label tab operates similar to the Move to tab except that instead of moving a message from the Inbox to a new label, it marks the message with a new label while leaving it in the Inbox. To Label a message, select the message you want labeled and click the Label tab. You will then see a drop list of all the labels that can be selected. After you select the appropriate Label, you will see the title of the Label next to the message in the Inbox. As with the Move to tab, the message will also be transferred to the selected label, which will be located in the left menu bar.


Inbox Quick Reference Guide

 
 
 
 
 

Comments